Vanilla Bean Cheesecake

Some time last week, i bought my 50 mm lens for my camera (finally!) and decided to bake something so i could play around with it! Have lost track of what i baked and what i’ve blogged and have not blogged. So i shall post up the most recent one! Vanilla Bean Cheesecake 🙂

Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
Recipe from My Baking Addiction
Adapted from Abby’s Infamous Cheesecake

Crust:
2 cups / 180 g graham cracker crumbs
1 stick / 4 oz butter, melted
3 tbsp. / 24 g sugar
1 tsp. vanilla extract (I used Beanilla Vanilla Paste)

Cheesecake:
3 sticks of cream cheese, 8 oz each (total of 24 oz) room temperature
1 cup / 210 g sugar
3 large eggs
1 cup / 8 oz heavy cream
1 tbsp. vanilla extract (or the innards of a vanilla bean)
1 tbsp liqueur, optional, but choose what will work well with your cheesecake

Notes:

  1. For the crust, i used digestive biscuits instead and omitted the vanilla.
  2. I also didn’t add liqueur to my cake.
  3. I halved the recipe and baked in a 8″ pan (i think) and got a relatively thin cake.

  1. Preheat oven to 180C
  2. Boil some water in preparation for your water bath
  3. Crush the graham crackers/digestive biscuits and mix well with the rest of the crust ingredients
  4. Press into the bottom of your pan (and at the sides if you want something like a tart), i used a spoon to help me. Move pan to the refrigerator to firm up
  5. Cream the cream cheese & sugar until smooth, making sure there are no lumps
  6. Add eggs in one at a time, scraping the bowl down between each egg
  7. Add the rest of the ingredients into the batter and mix well until smooth
  8. Pour the batter into the prepared pan
  9. Tap the pan on the counter a couple of times to remove the air bubbles
  10. Place into a water bath and bake for 45 to 55 mins
  11. To check it’s doneness, give the pan a little shake – it should be mostly firm, with a slight jiggle in the middle
  12. Turn off your oven and leave the cake to cool inside for an hour – this is to allow your cake to cool down slowly and for it to bake through
  13. Chill the cake and serve

If you like a dense, baked cheesecake, you’ll love this recipe. Really rich so a small slice will do the job.

By far my favourite recipe 🙂

Bon Appetit!

17 thoughts on “Vanilla Bean Cheesecake

  1. mmmmm…looks yummy!! Although I’m not really a vanilla fan, I LOOOOVE cheesecake! Have you tried wasabi cheesecake? I’m tempted to try baking it one day….it tastes pretty good!

    • never has wasabi cheesecake crossed my mind!
      cant even imagine how it tastes like. haha!
      let me know when you do,
      really wanna see and know how you think of it!

  2. How nice to have a 50mm lens! I wish I can own one too! Once you are familiar with the functions, you will definitely get addicted to photography. Good try! I haven’t baked a cheesecake before. Will bookmark yours to try it out. 😉

    • its not the camera or the lens, its the photographer! LOL.
      your photos are fantastic without anything extra!
      i’ve got lots to learn. heh.

  3. new lens! (: that’s awesome! I’m aiming to get the Canon 550d and the lens too! excited! hehe the cheesecake looks super duper yummy i could just dive my spoon into it and eat it whole! (: Nice one Felicia!

    • you’ll have so much fun when you get hold of the cam.
      thanks! was just looking at your sponge cheesecake.
      feel like making one now too heh.

  4. hi there,

    I was wondering, did you use a pan with a removable base? if no, how did you manage to get the cake out without ruining the gorgeous top!

    let me know.

    thanks : D

    Michelle.

  5. Pingback: Best Cheesecake I’ve Ever Had « keep calm & bake

Leave a comment