Banana Oat Crunch Muffins

Just in case you’re wondering, i’ve nothing against muffins 😛 I don’t have this blog address because i’m biased towards cupcakes! It’s just a really cute phrase i saw on a shirt once. Hahahaha. Anyway..

When i woke up this morning, i did my usual. Catching up on foodblogs, recipes and forums. I felt soooooooo hungry when i saw Ovenhaven‘s entry on blueberry muffins.

I felt like i just had to make them! Just that.. I don’t have blueberries. But i thought to myself, bananas sound good! Bananas are awesome along with cinammon and always comes with nuts or oats. So i thought of tweaking the recipe!

IMG_4512

Do visit the link above for the original recipe. Continue for my version which i name : Banana Oat Crunch Muffins!

For the Muffin:
3/4 cup plain flour
3/4 cup wholemeal flour
1/4 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup milk
1 1/2 cup chopped bananas

Mix the flours, rolled oats, white sugar, salt, and baking powder together. Basically just mix all the dry ingredients together.

IMG_4509

I used the paddle attachment for this.

IMG_4510

Whisk the rest of the ingredients in a measuring cup. Mix on low and slowly add the wet to the dry!

IMG_4511

Now fold the bananas in. I like to fold it in because i personally love the chunks of bananas in my muffins! Don’t like them mashed.

For the topping:
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp plain flour
2 tbsp wholemeal flour
3 tbsp butter, cubed
1 tsp ground cinammon
3 tbsp rolled oats

Cream the butter with the brown sugar. Then add the rest of the ingredients. I added more wholemeal flour/oats until it was more seperated and easier to sprinkle.

IMG_4517

So i filled the cups 3/4 way and sprinkled the topping over.

IMG_4521

Bake it at 200C for 25 to 30 mins.

IMG_4522

The top should be crunchy, and moist on the insides 🙂 It made an awesome breakfast!

IMG_4523

This really brightened up my morning. I hope it’ll do the same to you 😉

6 thoughts on “Banana Oat Crunch Muffins

    • thank you dear! heehee.
      just more fibre actually!
      when i get blueberries, i’d definitely use that recipe you posted up! 🙂

    • awww thank you grace! glad you like them 🙂
      hahahaha! yeah, i first saw it on a printed shirt online 😛

Leave a comment