Earl Grey Macarons

So i wanted to bake something different, something not as common, like chocolate. My sister suggested Earl Grey, saying that that would be something different. I tried googling recipes (i google EVERYTHING haha) but couldnt find one for earl grey macarons. One with recipe and pictures at least. So i decided to use the same recipe as my chocolate macarons, but use earl grey instead of cocoa powder. And it worked well πŸ™‚

IMG_4610

And the first thing that occurred to me was : what does earl grey go with? I had no idea what the filling should be. I asked my sister and she mentioned that people actually have earl grey tea with lemon! So i thought lemon would make an awesome filling.

For Macaron Shells:
3 egg whites
50g granulated sugar
200g icing sugar
110g ground almonds
2 tablespoons ground earl grey tea leaves (i used lipton)

IMG_4582

I cut up a few teabags and put it in the processor. I wish i did put them in a little longer and made it finer though. Would’ve been better i think!

IMG_4583

Tea leaves! i put them through a sieve so the bigger leaves dont go through. I couldnt grind them properly cos there were too little. Haha. Anyway. I processed my ground almonds too. So i sieved the tea leaves, ground almond and icing sugar and mix the dry ingredients well. Set aside.

IMG_4585

Whisk your eggs whites. Then add the sugar in. Beat until soft peaks form. Be careful not to overbeat them! You don’t want stiff peaks.

IMG_4586

Add your dry ingredients to your egg whites and fold it in. I added mine in half at a time. Fold until well incorporated.

IMG_4592

You should get a slow moving, flow-like-magma batter.

IMG_4604

Pipe your batter onto your baking paper. Bake at 150C for 12 to 15 mins.

Meanwhile, make the filling.

Swiss Meringue Buttercream
2 egg whites
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
Some lemon juice

Heat your egg whites and sugar in a saucepan and stir continuously until sugar is dissolved. It should look white and foamy. Turn off heat. Be careful not to cook the egg whites hahaha!

IMG_4611

Transfer it into the bowl and start beating it with your whisk attachment.

IMG_4614

It should look like this after a while. Like marshmallow cream! Beat in your butter and lemon juice. I used about.. 2 tablespoons? Should’ve add in the rind. Maybe next time! Heh.

IMG_4619

Macaron shells after they are baked! Sorry i baked these at night. And the lighting was bad 😦 So i tried using flash.

IMG_4620

Hahahaha. Looks bad. Sorry for the bad pictures. Anyway. Match up your macaron shells. Same sizes!

IMG_4625

Pipe your buttercream in.

IMG_4626

And sandwich!

IMG_4628

Looks more like cookies and cream kinda flavour don’t you think? That’s an idea! Probably make them next time πŸ˜‰

IMG_4633

Serve πŸ™‚

If you appreciate earl grey, i think you will love these πŸ˜‰ Enjoy!

44 thoughts on “Earl Grey Macarons

  1. Hi! These look really awesummmmz!!!! YUMZ! May I know how did you pipe those macaron shell? They look so perfectly round! What kind of pipe did you use! Oh and did you bake the shells immediately aft piping them? Oh and must the ground almonds be really fine? THX SO MUCH. πŸ™‚ These really look awesumz. I’m hungry. Rawrrrr. 😦

    • hello there trissy! i use wilton’s round tip, its the 1M i think! the biggest round tip they have. i don’t know how to describe the piping to you. its like a push and pull kind of action. i found this youtube video that may be of use to you though!

      i processed the ground almonds! its better just in case you have lumps and then the shells wont be smooth and shiny! and yes, i baked them immediately after piping! by then, the “skin” should have already formed. they form quite quickly! you’re most welcome πŸ™‚ have fun making okay? πŸ˜‰

  2. Oooh I see! Thx so much. Really helped. πŸ™‚ Sorry but one more ques, I don’t have a food processor at home. So what can I do to make them finer? Will it be ok if I use almond powder? Thx!!!!

    • i used to use a normal blender actually trissy! haha! but just have to make sure its really dry before use.
      almond powder is fine i think! since some recipes call for that πŸ™‚
      but i always sieve it even after i process them!

    • hey emma! haha thank you!
      yeah they do right! probably make that soon.
      im thinking of using lavender the next time too!

  3. Oh I see! Thank you so much Fel! πŸ˜‰ Lavendar would be a gr8 idea! Keep this food blog going! And try green tea macarons too? πŸ™‚

    • you’re welcome trissy!
      haha ive made those before – long before i created this blog.
      but hmmm. may just make them to show readers.
      want to try more exciting flavours first though! heh.
      thanks for the support btw πŸ˜€

  4. Your macarons look perfect, and you make it sound so effortless! πŸ˜› I’m a fan of Earl Grey tea, and I can only imagine how lovely this combination would be.

    Oh, but I don’t think you’re referring to Wilton’s 1M tip, coz that’s the open star tip πŸ˜›

    • hahahaha thank you dear! πŸ™‚ you should try this then, its awesome! πŸ˜€
      hahaha yeah i thought so! its a round version of 1M then.
      HAHA. cos its as big as the star tip but round!
      can’t remember what tip it is 😦

    • oh hello! haha. don’t flatter me!
      won’t say they’re perfect. thanks for the compliment anyway! heh.
      love reading your blog btw πŸ™‚

    • heh. thank you very much lorraine πŸ™‚
      i havent tried any tea macarons before! be it my own or others.
      this would be my first.
      btw im inspired by your panda bread post..
      will bake something along those lines soon!

    • heh. thank you dear πŸ™‚
      you should try! don’t be scared to try.
      can’t be worse than my first attempt at them!
      they were hard as rock 😦
      my boyfriend still keeps teasing me about the first time i made them.
      hahahaha.

  5. Found this post while browsing for earl grey in baked goods – these look amazing and I’m definitely saving the recipe to make later!

    • oh hello! looks like you’re an earl grey fan πŸ™‚
      welcome to the club! hahaha.
      thank you and i hope this recipe does you well.

  6. thank you so much for this post!
    i am thinking of making macarons for the very first time for a tea party, and your post is the best (and least intimidating!) one i found on my web-travels. i am thinking of making 2 kinds from the same base recipe – matcha with white choc ganache, and your earl grey with lemon butter cream. i have a couple of questions though:
    – how many macarons did you get from this recipe?
    – did the earl greay tea bits in the macaron taste bitter, or were they ok?
    thanks again!

    • awww. you’re so sweetie, shalini! thank you!
      ahh i love tea parties πŸ™‚
      honestly i can’t recall how many this recipe got me.
      i’m guessing about 30 macarons though. am really not sure!
      and it was a tad bit bitter.
      but thats because i didnt process them fine enough.
      be sure to process them fine enough!
      if not it’ll turn out with mine,
      where you can feel the tea leaves in them and chew em!
      hope your attempt turns out well! πŸ™‚

  7. Hi felicia..
    Love your post!
    I have made black tea macarons with a hint of vanilla..and put a white chocolate ganache for the filling..next time i will try to fill them with buttercream..:)

  8. Hey,your macarons look awesoom!!!
    I have tried it out, but the shape didnt turn out well.
    Also, it is too sweet and sticky.
    Can you tell me what is the problem?><

    • haha macarons are sweet. not much you can do about it.
      unless you balance it out with another flavour like dark chocolate or coffee or sth.
      there could be many factors dear – temperature, over/undermixing, over/underbaking.
      just try and try again!

  9. My macaroons crack! Could it be the temperature or just my batter/ingredients. I bake them on 130, top and bottom heat, with fan. They still crack. If i bake them at 150, they also crack, and the bottom gets brown even when they’re in for 15 minutes.

    Help..

    • it could be anything really.
      there should be a slight skin formed before baking.
      you may want to try “drying” the shells in an airconditioned place before baking.

  10. Hey babe! I love your macarons!!! They looked sooo beautiful!!! *envy* I’ve tried making them too! but my macarons just cracked and remained flat! 😦 How do i make sure that I beat my egg whites till it has soft peaks? I cant seem to pipe them properly too 😦

    • hi eexuan
      no worries, it takes lots of practice! haha.
      don’t beat it on high.
      beat them on medium speed and don’t rush into it.
      it should be fine.
      piping is really all about practice.
      no worries about it!

  11. Your macarons seem very perfect. I tried several times but still failed. I wonder when you said leave it dry until it form a skin, what does it look like?

    Thanks.

  12. I’ve made great macarons before using a different method, but I figured since I’ve had success before I could use this method and be okay. My macarons are flat, cracked and basically kaput. I feel like you must have left out some hugely important details…

    Better luck to everyone else!

    • there are many different methods to making macarons.
      french, swiss, italian..
      im no expert and not every of my attempts are successful.
      whichever you’re comfortable with.
      and i’m not saying mine’s the perfect macaron/recipe i found.
      would you like to share your method to great macarons, then?
      i’d love to share it with everyone else.

  13. Wow felicia!

    These look amazing! I’m going to try them out today and I’m rather nervous… My sister wanted me to make earl grey macarons for her wedding in June and your recipe is the best I found. I’ve made green tea ones before and they were almost perfect so I’m really hoping these work out πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  14. Hey!
    I stole your idea of doing Earl Grey but I realized at the last minute that I didn’t have any lemon, so I put a three spoons of orange juice instead.
    I think your blog is fab, but honestly, I’ve never made nice macarons
    -with fridge temperature whites
    -leaving the shells out to dry for at least half an hour before baking them
    -waiting for them to be dry before piping the filling.
    Also, I noticed that you’re using exactly the same ingredients and proportions as me… fan of Bakerella too, are you? πŸ˜‰

    • aww thanks dear! πŸ™‚
      my results arent consistent πŸ˜›
      yeah, most of the macaron recipes on my blog is from bakerella – or rather, tartelette!
      they’re both awesomeeee πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

