Banana Bread

I baked banana bread a couple of days ago! With more than enough bananas at home, because we grow bananas (and a couple of other awesome plants), i decided to make full use to them.

Image

I baked my banana bread in a bread tin, I like it nice and high. You can always bake it in a cake pan, or pretty much any pan you fancy for that matter.

Image

Banana Bread
Recipe from The Cake Mistress

2 bananas, mashed (I used 5 small bananas to mash, and sliced one up to top the bread)
120 g unsalted butter
2 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1 cup caster Sugar (I reduced it to 3/4 cup sugar, you can reduce more especially if your bananas are really sweet)
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 1/2 cups self raising flour (I used cake flour and added 1.5 teaspoons of baking powder)

I didn’t follow the instructions on the blog. Not sure how differently it would turn out if I did. Anyhow, it still turned out well. Take a look at her blog and see how she did it!

If you were wondering how I made this, I creamed the butter and the sugar until light fluffy and pale, added the eggs one by one, added the milk, the dry ingredients and lastly the mashed bananas.

I then greased my pan with butter and coated it with flour, then filled it up till the halfway mark. I topped the bread off with sliced bananas, and sprinkled brown sugar over the top before baking it at 170C. Test with a toothpick, it’s ready when it comes out clean.

Image

I really liked how cleanly the bread came out of the tin.

Image

It was really nice to slice into, with a slight crust around it, which is nice and golden brown. My favourite part to it are the edges!

Image

Really happy with how it turned out. Nice, soft and fluffy! Best eaten fresh out of the oven 🙂

Image

The cousin recommends you have it along with a glass of milk. Perfect studying snack 😉

Image

Bon appétit!

3 thoughts on “Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

