Sugarplum Cakeshop

As some of you already know, I’m back from Paris! It’s probably the best 8 months so far. It has been 2 weeks since I’ve been back. Spent a lot of time catching up with friends which is really nice. Hoping to find a job I really like now is a challenge.

Anyhow, I’ll probably have more time to blog now. I know this page has been pretty stagnant and inconsistent while I was away from home. I’ll try to keep it up!

This post will be about my last two months in Paris, where I did my internship! I first heard about this place via David Lebovitz’s blog, and I immediately knew this is where I wanted to Β do my internship πŸ™‚

Here’s a glimpse of my experience with my instagram shots!

Those 2 months couldn’t have gone by faster, I enjoyed my internship way too much!

To all the important people at Sugarplum Cakeshop, thank you. I’ve learnt so Β much. Proud to be a Sugarplum πŸ˜‰

Sugarplum Cakeshop
68 Rue du Cardinal Lemoine
Paris 75005, France
01 46 34 07 43

14 thoughts on “Sugarplum Cakeshop

  1. oh so this is the place where you did your internship! so nice!! i also learnt this place from David Lebovitz’s blog. just went there last week, the whole place were so ADORABLE. i saw the kitchen behind the cours, and i remember the video you put on twitter. How lucky you are for doing internship at such lovely place! little cake corner of 5Γ¨me!

    • heh yes! it was a pleasure working with them.
      hahaha you saw the video? its super funny!
      yeah i love the layout of the place πŸ™‚

  2. congrats on graduating!! all the photos look super appetizing!! especially that little bee detail on the cookie! yums!! look forward to more of your delish work!! good luck with the job hunt or maybe start your own patisserie? you’d be an awesome pastier!

    xoxo
    eunice

    • thanks eunice!
      yeah my colleagues made those πŸ™‚
      id love to have a place of my own in the future
      for now i still have lots to learn!
      thanks for the support x

  3. Hi Felicia,

    I discovered your site just yesterday night and believe me I was up until 5 am in the morning working my way through the archives. I am truly mesmerized by your talent, your creativity and eye for detail. I can’t stop ogling at all your 3D cakes and I keep asking myself “how can anyone bear to cut through them”. You are also incredibly generous in sharing your recipes. I am madly forwarding your site to everyone I know.

    Looks like you had a lovely time during your internship. All the very best for your job hunt. I am sure you will go places, maybe I should ask you for an autograph in advance πŸ™‚

    Regards and Love
    Poornima

    • hey poornima!
      its really heartwarming to read your comment.
      its nice to know there are readers like you around!
      thanks for sharing and for the overwhelming support! πŸ™‚

  4. hello felicia! love the pictures; the sugarplum cakeshop looks so quaint and whimsical!! I would die to work at a place like that!

    I’m a little curious about how the internship thing works for the le cordon bleu program.. do you get to pick where ever you want to work and does the school need to be informed? I badly want to go in a couple of years.. kinda starting research already :S

    • hey there! yeah sugarplum is awesome!
      well you can request where you want to go..
      then school will contact the place for you.
      unless chef isn’t comfortable/familiar with that place you intend to go to.
      if you don’t have a particular place you want to go,
      school will just select one for you.
      all of which are more than decent!
      all the best πŸ™‚

      • ahh okay thank you! that clears things up a little.. πŸ™‚
        okay, lasttt question, haha! you mentioned you spent 8months in paris, but isnt the LCB program 9months + 6months intern? Is the paris program shorter? πŸ™‚

      • course lasts 6 to 9 months depending whether or not you take the intensive course.
        i took intensive basic and superior, which lasted 6 months.
        and the internship is 2 months.
        depending on the place if they want to keep you.
        i got offered a 6 month internship but i had to come back for my sister’s wedding!
        no worries, more than happy to help clear your doubts.
        you’ll have a blast πŸ™‚

  5. congrats on graduating! wow, studying in Le Cordon Bleu will really be a dream come true for me. i’ll be working towards that! hope to see you & all of your creations in a quaint little cakeshop like sugarplum someday! πŸ™‚

    kel

Leave a Reply

