I Have Graduated From Le Cordon Bleu, Paris!

Dad used to say how I’ll be wearing a tall chef’s hat next time. And what do you know..

Look Pa! I’ve a toque that’s as tall as the chefs! πŸ™‚ I’ve graduated from Le Cordon Bleu, Paris. Best day – Ever!

One intense month of Superior pastry!

Did more modern cakes and tarts.

Sophisticated and plated desserts.

Lots of chocolate making/tempering.

And had a marvelous student dinner at a 3 michelin star restaurant.

Did some candy making and some jam too!

And then the most intense week of pouring and pulling sugar.

Which.. all paid off πŸ™‚

The graduation was held at the prestigiousΒ Cercle de l’Union InteralliΓ©e

The cuisine and pastry chefs

I wanted to do something special to show my appreciation for my pastry chefs. And so I thought why not do a fondant cake? Also since I haven’t been doing any since I left for Paris.

Made the school’s chef jacket!

It was a big challenge as I didn’t have any of my tools with me that I have back in Singapore. I had to make do with my mini oven and limited ingredients and tools and they are expensive here.

I waited till the ceremony was over and walked up to my chefs to present them the cake.

It was nice having the chefs compliment the cake I made, I was really nervous what they’d say! It was also nice to see people taking photos of it and asking who made it. That really made my day.

Chef Deguignet and me! He immediately wanted to take a photo haha. Love him so much. Most of us thought he was the meanest chef of all when we were in basic and intermediate pastry. But as we got to spend more time with him and got to know him better in superior, he’s probably the most popular chef in school!

Chef Nicolas Gordon joined in.

And so did Chef Tranchant.

The awesome pastry chefs at the graduation ceremony πŸ™‚

The designated photographer asked me to take one with the cake as well!

My classmate Cindy, and my guest, Nathalie!

My best friend in school πŸ™‚ I invited her as my guest to the ceremony. She completes her course in 2 months! A pity I won’t be able to attend hers..

Cindy and I. The only 2 Singaporeans in this batch! We made it!

Some of my classmates with chef!

Chef asked me to bring the cake to the table upstairs where we were having finger food and wine, to share with the others.

After a few minutes, someone cut the cake!

One of the cuisine chefs ate it too and liked the cake, even joking with me and asked if it was a recipe from one of our pastry chefs hahaha.

Nathalie, chef and me!

Leah and I!

Zhan πŸ™‚ Class is never boring with him around!

Nancy, who has been in the same class as me since the beginning.

Huai-Yi and Fang Cheng.

Midori! The cutest japanese lady around.

Awwww. Nat surprised me with lovely peonies she bought. Love her and the flowers so so much! πŸ™‚

Cindy, Sneha and I

Just having fun taking group pictures. Won’t be seeing some of them anytime soon 😦

Peggy and I. The life of the class!

Alison! Amazing in the kitchen and one of the few who got the Grand Diplome – completing both cuisine and pastry courses.

Dangerute and I. She’s super gorgeous you’ll never guess her age!

School’s president and the girls

Lovely view out! Love the sunset and the Eiffel tower peeking out.

Le Cordon Bleu was nothing short of amazing for me – a big stepping stone in my life! Can’t decide if I’m happy to graduate, or sad that pastry school has ended. Never thought I’d love a school so so much.

I have mixed feelings about leaving Paris as well. Will be back in Singapore after 2 months of internship. Am already starting to miss you, Paris!

31 thoughts on “I Have Graduated From Le Cordon Bleu, Paris!

  1. hey! this is so great, congratulations! I was just wondering, do you speak french or do they translate everything for you, as in, have a translator in class? πŸ™‚

    • hello! thanks πŸ™‚
      demos are translated into english by a translator, practicals are not!
      i only speak basic french. hope students speak no french at all but still cope! don’t think it’s a big problem!

      • Thanks so much! That’s the most straightforward answer to that question i’ve received and it’s very helpful! wish you all the best and hope you start a wonderful little patisserie in Singapore, maybe in the east? πŸ™‚

  2. Congrats! Glad that we were able to have a glimpse of your wonderful time there πŸ™‚ looking forward to more fabulous cakes πŸ™‚ xx

  3. Congrats though! It must have been a really tough journey for you but yet happy, haha! must be having mixed feelings now ya? All the best for your future!(: & please continue to bake, because it’s really awesome to be able to bake nice cakes and be appreciated:D

    • merci!! exactly.. am missing paris already! missing home at the same time.
      thanks for the support πŸ™‚ will definitely update more often when i’m back home!

  4. Am totally impressed with all the beautiful pastries you made at school! Definitely looking forward to having you back in Singapore and providing us another great choice in the world of pastries!

    Well done Felicia!

  5. Hi! I’m thinking of going for a course at Le Cordon Bleu!

    Just wanted to ask if it will be okay because I’ve never had any training in pastries before! The thought of it is quite scary!

  6. Hi Felicia, Congrats on your graduation! Wishing you all the best in what is going to be ahead of you! πŸ™‚

    Anyway, I was thinking of enrolling into Le Cordon Bleu as well! Can I ask, what course is it that you entered? How long and how much did it cost?

    Ps: Your chef coat cake looks so amazing!! Like all the fondant cakes you have ever baked!

  7. Hey Felicia! Congratulations!
    I admire your passion towards baking and courage to leave things behind and pursue your dreams in Paris!

    May I know how long is the course you attended and whether it’d be a problem if I don’t know french at all?

    Do we need to sit for any basic French course as one of their entry requirements?

    Thank you!!

  8. Hey Felicia! Saw your blog post and it really inspire me to take up the course you are taking in LCB. May I know how long is the course, how much isit, where do you stay when you decided to study there and how much is your monthly expenses when you are there? Thanks!! Really appreciate it if you bother replying me. πŸ˜€

  9. Hey Felicia! Saw your blog post and my son would like to take up the course you are taking in LCB. May I know how long is the course, how much is it, where do you stay when you decided to study there and how much is your monthly expenses when you are there?

  10. Haven’t been here in awhile. But I saw your name on a flyer for some workshop on baking a rainbow cake and decided to drop by.. A belated Congratulations on your graduation!!! May 2013 be as satisfying and fruitful as 2012 was for you! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

