Haagen Dazs Cake Feat. Sharon Au

I’m sure you Singaporeans out there remember the lovely local host and actress Sharon Au, though she has been missing for a couple of years from tv!

Well, I got the opportunity to bake for her last week – A Haagen Dazs cake. Not your usual icecream cake! πŸ˜‰

Baked some vanilla cake, 6 each in diameter!

Carved the cake closer to the shape of the tub. She particularly wanted the “flavour” of the icecream to be Creme Brulee. I could have used chocolate cake or something, but I thought it would be fun to try to somewhat mimic the flavour into the cake.

In between and surrounding the layers were vanilla buttercream, and put some caramelized sugar in between the layers as well.

Painted my fondant.

Half at a time.

Not the exact design on Haagen Dazs though. It was combining the old and new design of its packaging. Turned out rather well at the end anyway.

Was really quite happy with the outcome!

It’s only about 1.5x bigger than the actual size. Scooped out fondant with an icecream scoop to make it look like 2 scoops of Creme Brulee icecream on the side! I’ve never tried this flavour of Haagen Dazs personally – I don’t think it’s available here in Singapore though.

Sharon Au is really friendly, petite and pretty! She’s a sweetheart. Knowing I had my graduation ceremony the previous day, she got me flowers πŸ™‚

She thinks she is old and forgotten, I beg to differ! She looks gorgeous and still is loved for her acting and hosting! It was a pleasure meeting her. Enchante, Sharon!

17 thoughts on “Haagen Dazs Cake Feat. Sharon Au

  1. Hi, your cakes are gorgeous! very nice!
    Could you give me some advise on the mixer? I see that you are using the KitchenAid mixer? Is it the Artisan series? How do you rate it? I am considering between this and Kenwood.
    Thanks in advance!

    • hello! thanks dear!
      hmmm i’ve not much preference on mixers..
      im using the tilt head kitchenaid.
      i was previously using a kenwood.
      i’m loving my kitchenaid but there are many new kenwood mixers that are awesome!!
      love both brands so i don’t exactly favour a particular brand.

    • haha sharon! c’est pas grave!
      thanks for the post πŸ™‚ you flatter me too much.
      c’est un bonne idee cherie.
      rester en contact, a bientot!

      grosses bises,
      felicia

  2. Felicia, thank you for being the creator of the greatest birthday cake ever! I actually thought the 2 scoops of ice cream were real! It added alot of pizzazz to my already amazing birthday celebration.

    • hello! sharon was just telling me about this really good friend of hers – you!
      pleasure to make your night a little more special with the cake.
      thanks for the compliments πŸ™‚ great that you liked it!

  3. Pingback: Sharon Au’s Thank You Post! «

  4. Hey there, YOU CAKES ARE BEYOND AWESOME πŸ˜€ i wna order a cake but i needa check out the rates for first heh, drop me an email please πŸ˜€ keep baking πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

