Gingerbread Men

It’s looking (and smelling) a lot like christmas~ la la la la la..

Hahahaha, so I made Gingerbread cookies with my cousins a couple of days back. Okay not exactly. We omitted the ginger powder πŸ˜›

There’s nothing much to it. All you need are simple ingredients, some christmasy cookie cutters and of course a lot of time and effort!

Gingerbread Cookies
Recipe from Sweet Additions

2 eggs
125g butter
1/3 cup golden syrup
1/3 brown sugar
2 cups plain flour
1 cup self raising flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp vanilla essence

Hmmm, if you’re looking for a crispy kinda cookie, i’m afraid this is not the recipe for you. It’s a soft cookie!

I didn’t bother to read the instructions, you can follow it from the link if you want! If not.. be like me and just mix everything together πŸ˜› Just for kicks, here are many photos of every ingredient and step we made for the cookies heh.

Doesn’t matter to me what you add in first. But yeah as i said, for kicks.. Here we go πŸ˜€ Butter..

Sugar..

Mix!

Scrape..

Eggs

Vanilla

Cinnamon

Golden syrup

Mix and start adding the flour mix by bit. You don’t want everything flying out!

Halfway there! Nice and creamy. Scrape and continue adding and mixing.

Dough! Wrap it up in cling wrap. I refrigerated my dough because i feel that it’s easier to work with cold dough, especially with shapes. I split my dough into 4, wrapped them and put them in the fridge, this is so that i can just exchange the dough whenever my dough gets too warm/soft!

While you wait.. maybe you’d wanna play a game of Ticket to Train or two πŸ˜›

And then start again!

I rolled my dough on a silicon mat to keep things neat.

We lightly dusted the dough in flour before rolling it because the dough tends to stick to the rolling pin! Just lightly dust. We don’t want to add flour into the dough – it’ll be really stiff afterwards.

Press out your shapes! I had quite a few fancy cookie cutters, including headless and limbness gingerbread men hahaha.

After cutting, carefully move them to your baking tray and bake at 180C for about 20 mins.

Pretty unbaked cookie dough! Heh.

While that batch is baking.. Repeat! Roll…

Cut and bake!

Tah dah. Leave to cool.

Here’s one of my happy bakers πŸ™‚

Repeat until all dough is used up!

Bunch of cookies!

Use your favourite royal icing recipe.. Or just google for one hahaha.

Colour them and place them in piping bags! I didn’t use piping tips for this though, i only snipped a little hole at the end.

Now decorate!

Snow flake!

My uncle joined in πŸ˜› His gingerbread men was in office wear, with sunglasses, a santa hat, an injured leg and the other leg.. missing.

I think my cousin was a little confused whether it’s gonna be christmas or halloween. You’ll see what i mean.

This is my favourite! From the batch that she did that is.

These are the ones i did! Haha! And you saw it right, i made a Pikachu gingerbread man for my other cousin hahaha.

The ones my cousin did. See what i mean by halloween? It was great fun seeing how the kids brought the cookies to life (or death for that matter)

Hard at work!

My aunt joined in as well.

You can add sprinkles too. Pretty colours!

One gingerbread man ate the other’s leg hahaha.

Frosty the snowman~ And a pretty colourful snowflake πŸ˜€

Christmas lovers

A sad, lonely christmas for this fellow!

The 3 happy (and tired) bakers for the day (and night!). Hope you guys enjoyed this post especially when I haven’t been blogging in forever. Hope this is useful for you guys for christmas. If you have no idea what to get your friends and loved ones for christmas, i’d say christmas cookies/bakes are awesome gifts πŸ˜‰

24 thoughts on “Gingerbread Men

  1. Your cookies are adorable and the perfect way to bond with the cousins!

    You’ve intensified my desire to make cookies now- been wanting to for a week now. I need to get out of this office asap and start working on it πŸ™‚

    • thanks laureen! heh. yeah i love baking with kids!
      haha you should really take a break and bake em!
      i actually baked these on my off day πŸ˜›

  2. The cookies were just marvelous! They are very pretty, coupled with the creative decoration, makes it more attractive! Thanks for sharing the recipe too! Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    • hi dear.
      im not taking in orders for muffins!
      i’m only doing customized cakes now.
      currently working at 1 Caramel as cake artist.

  3. Hi Felicia,

    Will like to know what type of ‘cup’ use for measuring the ingredients. =X not sure if you’re able to send me a photo of the measuring cup used. I try many times of the different kind of receipe, with the ingredient of how many cups and cups..=X But all failed.

    • go to any baking store or sometimes even supermarkets.
      they sell measuring cups πŸ™‚
      otherwise you could google the equivalent in grams/weight too!

  4. hehehhee nice blog you have here. I also baked gingerbread cookies last Christmas! It was a blast πŸ˜‰

    But we didn’t use icing cause I thought it would taste bad. But hey, yours look pretty awesome!

  5. I know this is not related to the post. But I would like to know why my cake cracks on top. I have adjusted the temperature to be less hot but still it cracks. Can help?

    Thanks!

    • you should get an oven thermometer to make sure the temp is accurate.
      the corners of my oven tend to be warmer.
      also, the ‘skin’ of the macarons may not have formed yet, thus cracking.

Leave a Reply

