Congo Bars

Okay, i know what you’re thinking – Finally a recipe post ๐Ÿ˜›

Came across this recipe when i was in class. Sorry i was just really hungry at that time, don’t blame me! After seeing the pictures and recipe on Bakerella, how can i not bake this, right?

Congo Bars
Recipe from
Bakerella

2 3/4 cup all purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup butter, softened
1 lb. light brown sugar
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla (i used vanilla beans)
11.5 ounce package milk chocolate chips
1 cup chopped pecans (optional)

Sift flour, baking powder and salt together.

Then cream the butter and brown sugar together. My little cousin was with me. She looked at the bowl, took a quick whiff and went “Mmmmm. Smells like milk. Bali milk.”

I was like what?! Haha, apparently the milk she had in Bali smelt like butter and brown sugar.

Add in the eggs one by one.

Nice and creamy batter.

Add vanilla essence (or beans like i did)

Now add lots and lots of chocolate chips. Didn’t measure the chocolate chips here. I just dumped as much as i want in ๐Ÿ˜›

Fold that in!

Line your pan (if im not wrong the one i used was 11″ x 11″) and spread that batter!

Bake at 350F for 30mins. I’m guilty for leaving it in the oven for a little too long. I was having dinner and it almost slipped my mind! That explains the over-browning and cracks at the edges.

And again, i’m guilty for not letting it cool completely before slicing. Whoops. So the chocolate chips kinda got mushed into the rest of the congo bars. Chronicles of a lazy baker ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Look at the sides, get what i mean? Haha, was good, anyhow ๐Ÿ™‚

Packed some for my friends too. I think its best eaten when cooled, its chewier that way.

Off to wash up and grab some brunch!

Au Revoir ๐Ÿ™‚

15 thoughts on “Congo Bars

  1. Hello, I’m fifteen and I’ve been reading your blog for quite some time already, I love how great you are at doing these and I’ve tried many of your recipes ๐Ÿ™‚ Your entries are really inspirational ๐Ÿ™‚
    I have a question though– what are congo bars? They look like a variant of brownies/blondies..

    • Hey there jacq ๐Ÿ™‚ good to know you enjoy reading! Heh. They’re actually in between cookies and brownies. Yeah that’s pretty much it! Put a brownie and a Congo bar there, I wouldn’t be able to tell the difference, really. Haha but this is one hell of a recipe!

  2. not only do i love the name of these bars, i love all the components. and really, who can wait til they’re completely cooled? not i!

    • I know! I haven’t heard of Congo bars until I read bakerella!
      Doesn’t help that the weather here is crazy warm and humid ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. I truly wanted to type a simple comment to be able to express gratitude to you for some of the fabulous instructions you are writing on this website. My extended internet investigation has at the end of the day been paid with reasonable facts to exchange with my classmates and friends. I would express that most of us site visitors are very much fortunate to live in a very good network with very many wonderful individuals with good principles. I feel extremely happy to have discovered your entire webpages and look forward to plenty of more thrilling times reading here. Thank you once more for a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

