Precious Moments Cake

Over the same weekend i baked for Pro-fit Institute, i had to make a cake for a friend’s Registry of Marriage (ROM). This is the third time someone has asked me to bake for their ROM but this is the very first one that i actually carried out.

He (we’ll just call him R) was one of my colleagues where i used to intern at about a year ago. He approached me on Facebook after looking at the photos of my cakes that i uploaded. I had only two weeks notice to plan and think about it!

R emailed me a picture of what he had in mind.

Can't seem to find the source of this pic! So i took it from the email.

The first thing that came to mind was Great. This is really do-able.

All he wanted was a two tired baby pink cake.. ribbons, flowers to cater to 40 guests. Met him up for about 15 mins to discuss and take the figurine from him. Was really excited because the bride-to-be doesn’t know about the cake. It’s a surprise! Awww!

Here’s a couple of in-progress pictures that i tweeted! Haha my fellow followers get to see the cake long before it goes on my blog πŸ˜›

My first successful rose omg. I wanted to cry when i couldn’t get it right the first 34952th times.

Made a couple in baby colours. I honestly had no idea how to put it on the cake at this point. I just kept making!

Made a ribbon too. The ribbon was sooooo much fun to make. But i must say.. gumpaste can be such a pain!

So can fondant. Colouring fondant = back breaking.

And presenting……

My driver for the day. Hahaha. Thats my boyfriend. He drove us to the hotel while i held on to the cake with my dear life. It was soooooo heavy.Β Called one of the co-ordinators whom R asked me to contact when i reached.

And there i was. Feeling like a professional, a VIP, setting up the cake and touching it up πŸ™‚ Two of their friends came over to take photos of the cake before it was gonna be showcased. Was so happy after what they said.

Her: Wow! What a nice cake! *snaps away* Is this from the hotel?
Me: Hmmm.. nope. I made it! (I was trying to hide my grin and stop myself from jumping around in joy)
Her: Oh wow, which shop do you work for?
Me: I’m a friend of R’s. Am still a student studying in Poly.

Then she continued with her wows. Hehe, super flattered! Especially when just a day before someone thought my other cake was ordered from the restaurant nearby.

All that hard work surely paid off. After they exchanged vows and said their “I dos,” they pushed the cake out!

Now everyone, go “AWWWWWWWW!” πŸ™‚

Mickey & Minnie held some special meaning to the couple. Which explains the figurine. The bride-to-be really liked the figurine so it was part of the surprise.

I left after that because R was busy entertaining his guests. He texted me a while later saying that it was really nice. If i happen to see a picture of it cut up i’ll update this post and the previous one! It’s just a chocolate cake btw πŸ™‚

Sweet. I’ve never had so much sense of satisfaction just over a weekend. Now i can’t wait to get married LOL.

Thanks for reading guys.

26 thoughts on “Precious Moments Cake

    • its the figurine that makes the cake look good πŸ˜›
      luckily he was flexible with the design!
      haha thanks btw!

    • aww thanks lorraine.
      ITS MY DREAM! definitely going into this line.
      going to pursue my studies in culinary arts first! hehe.

  1. hahaha.. you would get married just to have an adorable cake of your own? XD

    btw, I think I went AWWWWW when I saw the cake you made! Gosh. It’s AMAZING!
    Fondant is a pain to me. You have to teach me! πŸ™‚

    • yes i want a pretty cake!
      and not one that i baked πŸ˜›
      hahaha thanks.
      not good enough to teach, though πŸ˜›
      would be happy to share what i know.
      fly on over! hahaha!

    • perfect’s too strong a word, z!
      took me forever to get the roses right.
      all that hard work did pay off πŸ™‚
      thanks!

  2. Wow! Your cake looks very very impressive and beautiful, as usual. I didn’t have any cake when I got married. If I ever celebrate my wedding anniversary one day, will you take my order? Hehehe! πŸ˜‰

  3. Hello! (:
    May I know if you made the Precious Moments figurine on the cake that you’ve baked, is done by you too??

    Thank you! πŸ™‚

    • hahaha corinne! i wish, but no πŸ˜›
      the figurine is bought by the groom to be.
      he wanted it as a gift to the bride – so he decided he wanted to add a cake to it πŸ™‚

  4. this is AMAZING!!!! it looks exactly like the picture the bridegroom showed u. when did u start doing all these fondant decorations?? just checking how long i will hv to practise using fondant till i can reach ur level :p

    • hmmm. i started baking when i was 11 or so?
      but started to bake a lot when i was 17.
      started with fondant about 1 or 1.5 years ago!
      didn’t do fondant cakes often, but it was fun trying out new things.
      all the best with your fondant cakes!

Leave a Reply

