Japanese Cotton Soft Cheesecake

If you didn’t already realize.. I’m on twitter! Follow me 😉 @felkhoo

Been forever since i blogged/baked 😦 Long weekend, i know. But i just had to fall sick. Having a flu sucks. Anyhow, a couple of days ago i made Japanese Cotton Soft Cheesecake. Didn’t quite turn out like how i hoped it’d turn out. There’s definitely gonna be a try #2.

Japanese Cotton Soft Cheesecake
Recipe from
here

140g/5 oz. fine granulated sugar
6 egg whites
6 egg yolks
1/4 tsp. cream of tartar
50g/2 oz. butter
250g/9 oz. cream cheese
100 ml/3 fluid oz. fresh milk
1 tbsp. lemon juice
60g/2 oz. cake flour /superfine flour
20g/1 oz. cornflour (cornstarch)
1/4 tsp. salt

Butter, cream cheese and milk. Melt them together in a bowl over a saucepan of boiling water.

Until you get a smooth mixture. Cool.

Add the lemon juice and egg yolks.

Fold in the flours.

Beat the egg whites with cream of tar tar until foamy.

Add sugar and beat until glossy and soft peaks form. Fold egg whites into the rest of the batter 1/3 at a time.

Here’s my mistake : I was being too lazy + greedy. I didn’t prepare another pan. I happily greased and lined my 8″ springform only to realise it was too small. So….. i piled as much batter as i could (and i still had some left). Omg i know! 😦

Bake at 160C in a water bath for 1 hour 10 mins.

Even before i popped it into the oven i didn’t have a good feeling. So after a while i went to check.

Huge but pretty right? Nice domed top? But no. By the time it baked through…

The horror 😦 Smelt so awesome but boy was i disappointed and regretful of how it turned out to look like.

The insides though, were amazing.

Sigh this is depressing lol.

Just you guys wait for my attempt 2! Grrrrr.

ANYWAY. Look what just arrived in my mail yesterday 🙂

OH YEAHHHHHHHHH.

Watch this space 🙂

22 thoughts on “Japanese Cotton Soft Cheesecake

  1. I cooked the Japanese Soft Cotton Cheesecake of Not Quite Nigella last year. It was really good and the rare blueberry cheesecake wedged in the middle made it extra fancy. Even the though the top was a little precious I am sure it tasted great.

  2. It doesn’t matter – I can tell that it is the softest, airy fairiest cake and that’s enough for me! I want this cake and I want it now!!!! I’ve always wanted to get my hands on this cake’s recipe and here it is! Thank you!!!

  3. Are you back in the pink of health now? Poor thing. Flu is yucky. Don’t worry about the cake. It will turn out better … you already know what not to do the next time. 😉 The texture and taste are more impt, and seeing that you got those 2 right, you’ll surely get it perfect in Round 2! 🙂 Looking forward to seeing your macarons too!

    • much better! but the monday blues at work stinks 😦
      yeah, i wont settle for this result!
      heh can’t wait to bake again.
      this week should be my last week at work!

    • haha looks like ours are the total opposites.
      yours is really thin and mine is sky high!
      haha yeah since they would probably taste the same anyway 😛
      me too! will be expecting more macaron posts from you 🙂

  4. Hope you are fine now. Haven’t baked it for more than 6 years already. Love your soft cheesecake. It looks great to me. I’m sure you will pass with flying colour in your 2nd attempt. 😉

  5. what a uniquely fabulous cake! i can honestly say i’ve never seen a cake with that kind of texture. it looks awesome to me, so i’m eager to see how you improve it with #2! 🙂

  6. owh felicia, I did a version of this cake too and it deflated so much after it cooled. Some cracks on the top too. I still prefer the feather light cheesecake. It’s lighter than cotton cheesecake 🙂

    • 😮 i heard something about not taking out the cake immediately after baking.
      think it helps if you just open the oven door slightly first,
      allowing the temperature to drop slowly.
      hehe i should try then!

Leave a Reply

