Strawberry Souffle

To think that during this holidays i’ll be baking away. But here i am in office stealing a few minutes to blog about what i baked in forever.ย If i were to die now, it would be of Thrombosis. Sitting on my bum all day long ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hahahaha.

I initially wanted to make a mango souffle because i thought i had some mangoes leftover but no. Haha, but strawberries will do too. This was really impromptu. I really needed to bake something. It’s like some weird withdrawal syndrome. I feel so uncomfortable and grumpy and restless when i don’t bake. Haha, i’m weird but it’s true.

Well, the main reason is to use up some of my egg whites that i have frozen from the leftover whites of the Kueh Lapis. Didn’t follow a recipe.. So use this recipe at your own risk ๐Ÿ˜›

Felicia’s Strawberry Souffle (Hahahaha)
1/4 cup egg whites
A pinch of cream of tar tar
3 tbsp granulated sugar
3 tbsp strawberry puree

Sorry my egg white measurement is in cups as i scooped it from my leftover whites.

So i pureed my strawberries and sieved them to get rid of the seeds.

Prepare your ramekins by lightly greasing them and coating it with sugar.

Whip the egg whites until foamy, add a pinch of cream of tar tar. Add your sugar and continue beating until you get nice and glossy whites that hold its shape.

Fold your strawberry puree in.

Fill your ramekins until they reach about an inch from the top.

Bake at 150C until poofy and slightly browned at the top. That took mine about 20 mins or so. Should’ve browned it a little more.

Serve immediately.

I love the browned part best haha. And the caramalized sides cos of the sugar. Hehe.

It turned out not bad. But maybe i should add more puree next. It had a little bit of an eggy taste. And i would probably try adding a little flour to it next time. Think it’ll be nicer to get a more cake-y texture. I’ll update again if i were to try altering the recipe! Would be awesome with blueberry or some other fruit! I’m going to try to bake something tonight. I. Need. To. Bake.

Side note! Met Ju (The Little Teochew)ย for lunch last week and it was awesome. Talked to her like i have known her for forever. And omg, she was slimmer than i thought she was! Got to know her a little better ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks Ju for the lunch treat.ย I hope you enjoyed the chocolate macarons i baked last minute and that your kids like the cookie cutters ๐Ÿ™‚
Thanks for reading!

24 thoughts on “Strawberry Souffle

  1. Dearie, hats off to you for getting that souffle baked and photographed to perfection! I made one before (a warm banana souffle) and it was not easy photographing it. Your pic is like, phenomenal!! Thanks for the macarons and the cutters. My kids LOVED the macarons. They very generously allowed me ONE piece. They rest were devoured in seconds. I heard a loud noise midway and realised my baby was sucking his little hand! The macaron melted and crumbled with his rough treatment, and the only way to eat it was by sucking all the bits up! My pleasure meeting you, Fel!

    • you should’ve seen me rush like a mad woman taking those photos!
      prepared my camera.. rushed out the souffle and started snapping away! haha.
      aww you’re most welcome ๐Ÿ™‚ glad they enjoyed it.
      no the pleasure is mine! heh.

    • ๐Ÿ˜ฎ heh it was just a random urge to bake sth.
      it didnt turn out awesome, but it wasn’t bad either. haha thanks anyway!
      yeah i’ve a sweet tooth so those are the best parts!

    • oh hello fondant queen ๐Ÿ˜€ hehe.
      yeah i love the pink too! though the next time i would put more puree.
      love baking more than anything else ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. After reading your post, I think I have the same “weird withdrawal syndrome” in baking too. Just made my Italian pesto bread today. Love your strawberry souffle very much! So smooth and fluffy! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • yeah its hard to explain! hahaha.
      oh yeah, i saw your post! it looks so good.
      smooth and i LOVE the colour.
      thank you LK ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. awesome! (: Never tried any other souffle than a choc one! hehe And I’m definitely not a pro, cause I can never imagine improvising this little yummilicious thing (:

Leave a Reply

