Eclairs

Hi all! I know its my holidays and i should be blogging/baking more. But.. I’m like helping out at my dad’s office right now! Have some free some so i’ll just sneak a post πŸ˜› I uploaded the photos at home for a draft post and am just typing it here πŸ˜›

This was made a couple of days back.. But i was so busy catching up with friends and all, that i didn’t have much time to finish up this blog post. So here it is πŸ™‚

Pate De Choux
Recipe from
Joy of Baking
1 cup all purpose flour
1Β tsp sugar
1/4 tsp salt
6 tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup water
4Β eggs

Sift the flour, sugar and salt into a bowl.

Heat the milk, water and butter in a saucepan.

Melted butter!

After bringing it to a bowl, take it off the heat.

Add the flour mixture..

And stir with a wooden spoon!

Put it over low heat and cook it for a few minutes longer until it resembles smooth mashed potatoes! Now take it off the heat. Stir to cool slightly.

I cracked my eggs into a measuring cup so that i could add the eggs in one by one easily.

One egg..

Two eggs..

Three eggs..

Four! If it breaks then beat in more! HAHAHA i’m a natural at rhyming. Okay kidding.

But yes. You should do the pinch test. Just pinch about a teaspoon of dough with your index finger and thumb. It should be more stretchy than inclined to break. So if its breakable.. stir in a little more egg!

Pipe your choux dough onto parchment paper. Piping’s always fun πŸ˜€

Give them some space cos it’ll be really poofy!

Be sure to score your dough with a knife so it’ll expand nicely. It makes a lot of difference! But now i’m wondering if its better for me to just pipe with a star tip. Hmmm.

Bake at 400F for 10 mins or until poofy! Then turn down the temperature to 350F and bake for another 15 mins or until golden brown.

Tah dah!

For my chocolate glaze, i melted 4 oz of chocolate and half a cup of cream together.

Dip and cool!

Use a nice long piping tip to fill your eclairs. Then you dont have to cut it open. Just pierce the piping tip in! It’s fun cos you can feel the eclairs grow and become plumper and heavier. Heh.

I used this pastry cream recipe to fill my eclairs! But i used vanilla beans instead of extract. Though you can fill it with anything you want. I think i’ll fill them with homemade vanilla ice cream next time! πŸ˜€

Hehe πŸ˜€

It was gooooooooooood. Heh.

I last (actually it was my first time) made eclairs a few years back and hated it cos the choux dough had an eggy smell after baking. Still don’t understand why. Lol, but nevermind because this turned out awesome.

I’ve signed up for a macaron class this coming sunday. Haha okay i know what you guys are thinking. And i quote Ju from our email convo,

“WHY do you need toΒ sign up for a macaron class? Oh, I get it. You’re the teacher, right?”

HAHA. She’s so funny. But no! I’m going there to learn and see how differently people make macarons. And i can improve on the techniques too πŸ™‚ I’ll update you guys on it soon!

P.S Ju, date me out soon please!

20 thoughts on “Eclairs

  1. I have never made an eclair (+many many other things) before… the choc topping is too good to resist!

    Hope forward to your post on your macaron class soon!

    • theres so many things out there to bake, its endless!
      heh so so good!
      yeah will definitely update and share πŸ™‚

  2. Good girl, helping your dad. πŸ™‚ I was going to make eclairs, but kept on procrastinating. I love your eclairs!!! So soft and airy!!! You’ve given me that much needed kick to get my butt moving. πŸ˜‰ I will date you soon, promise, promise!!! Enjoy your macaron class. Just don’t outshine the teacher, OK?

    • if it means earning some extra bucks to spend this holidays, why not? haha.
      you should! its fun. hehe thank you!
      haha! aiyo ju! you flatter me TOO much.
      i will paiseh one, leh!

    • haha theyre pretty much the same i guess.
      just what you fill them with!
      heh. cant wait to see your post on it then πŸ™‚

  3. Wow, those look amazing. Like I want one right now amazing πŸ™‚
    Thank you for sharing this and for all the photographs! they are really helpful.
    I will definitely try this soon!

  4. i LOVE eclairs but i’ve never gone to the trouble of making them myself. yours look properly poofy and the filling and glaze seem perfect from where i’m sitting. really nicely done, felicia!

Leave a Reply

