Red Velvet Cake ll

I’mmmmm baaaaacccckkkk! Heh, on holidays now. So much more time to bake! Hehe. Have decided not to take in cake orders this holidays. Maybe just a few? I need more ‘me’ time for baking and cooking, where i can try new things 🙂 I made a red velvet cake two days ago and it was pretty darn good.

My previous red velvet post was on my Hermes cake, without the recipe. Totally forgot what recipe i used for that one.. But here’s one that i really like! I altered the recipe a little though.

Red Velvet Cake
(Edited from here)

Cake:
2 1/4 cups cake flour
2 tbsp cocoa
Some red colouring
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla or vanilla beans
1 cup buttermilk
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp white vinegar

Sift the flour! And no i don’t have 3 hands. My sister took the picture 😛 I measured the flour first, then sifted it.

Sift in the cocoa..

And the colouring. I used the powder form. Doesn’t matter how much, just as long as you like the red!

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

Add in the eggs and mix until creamy.

I scraped my vanilla pod..

And mixed it in as well 🙂

Then beat in your buttermilk and dry ingredients, part by part, alternating them.

Mix together your vinegar and baking soda and watch it fizz! Haha, this reminds me of the “science” experiments we did in primary school. You know those volcanos? Hahaha! Anyway, mix it in!

You might have to scrape the bowl and mix it in again. LOVE the red.

Pour your batter into your springform pan. I used a 10″ springform. Will probably use a 9″ in the future. You’ll see why later! My layers are tad too thin.

Bake @ 175C for about 30mins. Haha, i was just playing around with my camera’s focus.

Baked quite nicely!

Came out nicely..

And domed nicely! Sweet.

Leveled the cake 🙂 Love the red after baking. It’s like 10x better than before its baked!

Was a very happy girl at this point.

Further split the cake into 3. You can see the unintentional marbling with the cocoa 😛

I used 4 parts cream cheese, 1 part butter, some vanilla essence and creamed them together.

Then added my icing sugar. Didn’t measure how much. But just add until you’re happy with the sweetness and consistency 🙂

Slather stack slather stack 😀

Ugly crumb coat muahaha.

Yummy end product!

Yeah, the layers and the cream in between the layers were thin. Was good anyhow. Heh.

This is to my number one Red Velvet Cake fan, Manda!

Thanks for reading!

28 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cake ll

  1. Oooh, that looks like suede! I love the unintentional marbling, actually. 🙂 Well done, Fel! I hope you bake more now that school’s out. Got your contact … will text you when I am fully recovered. 😦 Enjoy your freedom!!

    • haha, yeah no idea how the marbling came about.
      i thought i mixed it well! hahaha.
      yeah baking and going out more.
      hope your tummy isnt giving you anymore problems.
      stomach flu stinks i know 😦

    • haha! actually grace, it wasn’t intentional.
      we went out for supper, so i brought my friends some cake.
      and we had no choice but to use chopsticks!

    • ah yes, i was scared i was going to overdo the colour!
      but it turned out quite an awesome red 🙂
      thanks!

    • oh hey brenda! hope you managed to bake enough before you went back.
      heh you should really get yourself a simple oven over there!

  2. 9 out of 10 bakers will say that the red velvet is over-rated. Gald yours turn out well.

    I sure gonna try this! Well, when I can get thru my long to-do list! 🙂

  3. Hi, sorry for asking too many questions.

    Can I know how long the cake can last in open air with fondant on? I found online that we are not supposed to fridge the cake once we had the fondant on it. Won’t the frost or something melt? Can it pull through inside a cake box for at least 3 hours?

    Thanks!

    • i dont use any particular brand really.
      meaning for every 100g of cream cheese, you combine with 25g of butter.
      thats just the proportion. it really depends how much frosting you want.

Leave a Reply

