Melting Moments

Today, Donna called out to me. Yes, Donna Hay. I was sitting at my table in my room today after school doing some work. I was getting quite tired and when i looked up in front of me, i saw Donna. Donna Modern Classics Book 2 to be exact. Hahahaha!

All my baking books are on my study table by the way. And all my boring marketing and accounting books are on my shelf behind me ๐Ÿ˜› Ah.. Quite a distraction when i try to study! Heh. But anyway, flipped through the book and decided to bake something quick. Then i saw Melting Moments. Perfect! Especially when my little cousin is a big fan of them.

IMG_6631

Melting Moments
Recipe from Donna Hay’s Modern Classics Book 2

175g butter, softened
1/4 cup icing sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup corn starch

IMG_6612

Prepare your butter!

IMG_6613

Cream it up..

IMG_6614

Beat in your icing sugar,

IMG_6619

Flour, cornstarch..

IMG_6621

And vanilla ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes! That simple. Heh.

IMG_6629

Pipe them onto your baking sheet! I used a big star tip.

IMG_6634

Optional btw. I cut glaced cherries and placed them on top before baking! Gives them a little more oomph to it ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_6635

OH. MY. GOSH. Do you see what i see? I PIPED MY SECOND BATCH ON MY NEW SILPAT MAT! *Hops around*

Bake at 180C for 12 to 14 mins or until golden. Then leave to cool.

IMG_6648

As you can see.. My baked melting moments kinda drooped a lot. Whoops! Heh, sure doesn’t look like that on Donna’s book. Though i reckon it’ll help if i refrigerated the batter before piping! Not disappointed at all, because it tastes awesome! Sweetness is just nice, was worried it’ll be too sweet. It really lives up to its name, because it literally melts in your mouth! Fragile cookies so be careful.

Will be baking for my good friend’s 21st birthday later this week. So watch this space ๐Ÿ™‚

28 thoughts on “Melting Moments

  1. lol at your Silpat mat!!! I find most of Donna’s recipes don’t turn out as nice looking as her pictures on her cookbooks / magazines. I am happy that it’s not just me.

    • ah really? i don’t know cos i havent tried out her recipes until now!
      the book was just sitting there.
      thats the case for quite a few books i guess ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      and yes im starting to worship my silpat mat heheheh.

  2. Hi, are these similar to langue de chat? And if you have one, could you share a langue de chat recipe? I’ve been searching for the perfect one ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks!

Leave a Reply

