Vanilla Layered Cake With Fruits

Okay i’m quite convinced that wordpress is screwing up my pictures 😦 They used to all appear so clear! Now they’re all pixelated and i’m quite annoyed by it. Grrr. How do i fix this?! HELP SOMEONE HELP.

Anyway, it’s my grandma’s 71st birthday today. And i was assigned a mission by my aunt to bake her a cake! Hahaha, usually we just buy one you see. My grandma is someone who doesn’t really take cakes. The only cakes she like to eat are buttercakes! So i tried to keep it as simple as possible.

Recipe from Chezannie’s

Vanilla Butter Cake
2  2/3 cups cake flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
3 3/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
6oz butter (That was like 170g for me!)
3/4 cup milk
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract (I used vanilla beans)
4 eggs

IMG_5892

Sift the flour, baking powder and salt. Honestly i hardly ever do that simply because i’m lazy. But i didn’t want to flop this cake for my grandma! So i tried to be as careful as i can 😛

IMG_5896

Added in the cubes of butter.

IMG_5898

Eggs & sugar! I love how the batter looks so creamy here.

IMG_5899

Slowly pour in the milk. And i do mean slowly. You don’t want the milk spurting all over!

IMG_5903

Add in your vanilla!

IMG_5905

You should get a really smooth batter. Damn the pictures. You guys should be able to see the vanilla beans 😦 This is so depressing.

IMG_5910

I used an 8 inch springform pan. Didn’t bake in 2 pans because i only had one of that size! Baked it all at one go. Supposed to bake it at 350F (about 175C) for about 30 to 35 mins. But because i baked it in just one springform pan, i baked it at 160C for much longer. Didn’t take note how long but i just played by ear. When i saw that it was golden brown, i checked with a toothpick every once in a while, until it came out clean.

IMG_5920

This was what i got 🙂 Was actually very pleased how beautifully it turned out! Though quite domed, i loved the texture ; it was really easy to slice! I let it cool and leveled the cake.

IMG_5924

The insides were pale and pretty 🙂

IMG_5948

Split the cake into 3.

IMG_5949

Cream
3 cups whipping cream (I used 2 cups)
5 tbsp sugar  (I used 2 tbsp)
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Just whip the whipping cream until peaks form. Don’t overbeat because it’ll seperate. It’ll curdle and become disgusting with water. Hahaha. Then beat on low, adding the sugar and vanilla. Stacked my cakes! with minimal whipped cream in between.

IMG_5952

Pureed strawberries and added gelatin to add some colour to the cake. You can use anything at all! Whatever juice/puree. Optional though 😉

IMG_5957

And go happy with fruits! Heh. Use all sorts of fruits of different colours. Makes it really pretty. Sorry bad lightning. I piped cream onto the sides because i had problems adding the cream. Singapore’s weather is sooooo bad for cake decorating i swear. Someone air condition my kitchen please! Everything will almost immediately fall apart because it’s so warm here 😦 So pardon the mess.

I used the syrup from the canned peaches and added gelatin to it to glaze the fruits and the top of the cake. Was quite a last minute cake i should say. I was still decorating it 5 mins before the cake cutting!

IMG_5982

Am very happy and pleased with the cake layers this time 🙂

IMG_5983

But am still really angry at what wordpress did to my pictures. Argh!

Will be baking lemon biscotti next. Till then! Have fun making this alright? 😉

12 thoughts on “Vanilla Layered Cake With Fruits

    • i’ll thank her on your behalf! 🙂
      yeah it puts a smile on her face when she sees me bake!
      though she hardly ever eats my baking.
      even this birthday cake actually!
      she just took a little and said it was nice, not too sweet.
      too bad she aint a cake person!

  1. How lucky of your grandma to have this talented grand daughter! Your photos look fine to me. Have u fixed the problem? Btw, just wonder why ur steps begin with flour, then butter, egg and sugar?

    • thank you 🙂 sweet of you to say that!
      really? its kinda pixelated to me.
      compared to what i had uploaded that is.
      ive contacted wordpress about it.
      dont know if they can solve it!
      and actually i dont know, i just followed instructions :S
      don’t know if it makes a difference in texture!

  2. Hi Felicia,

    Happy belated to your granny.

    The cake looks scrumptious! BTW, the photo didn’t look the least pixelated to me. Clear good pix I see on my screen, sweetie.

    • thanks on my grandma’s behalf!
      and thanks for the compliment 🙂
      really? hmmm. comparative to my original picture, the quality’s bad though.
      heh thanks anyway dear!

Leave a Reply

