Green Tea Red Bean Cookie : Fail

Somehow i decided to improvise a recipe on my own. Don’t know what got me to do so, but yes. Many of you may already know, i’m in love with the green tea red bean combination. Back in june, i was in Hong Kong and came across a green tea red bean cookie from Starbucks. Don’t know if you guys have seen or tried it before. But we don’t have it here in Singapore! Not that i know of, at least. So that got me really excited, especially when i stocked up on my matcha powder a while back.

But sad to say, my attempt at this failed.

IMG_5735

The butter and brown sugar.

IMG_5738

IMG_5741

Eggs, flour, vanilla, salt, baking soda.

IMG_5743

IMG_5749

Matcha powder. Then carried on to add in red beans.

IMG_5751

The dough was wet. So at this point, i got a little worried. How it turned out?

IMG_5756

Well.. I’ve no problems with the taste and sweetness. But it wasn’t a cookie texture at all! It was all hmmm how should i put this.. Cake-like? Yeah, cake-like. It wasn’t even close to a cookie! šŸ˜¦ I didn’t exactly have high hopes on my first attempt, so not all that disappointed. Hmmmm. Any idea how should the proportions of butter, sugar, flour etc for a cookie be like? Help! Hahaha. Won’t post up the (fail) recipe until i get this right! Then i’ll share it with all of you!

How was your first recipe improvisation like?

Anyway, on the topic about first tries and attempts.. Would like to share these with all of you who have a phobia of making macarons! šŸ˜› A while back, i baked macarons for a friend who was attending a garden party.

My macarons alongside with her sugar cookies & cupcakes!

After that.. She couldn’t stop thinking about the macarons and decided to give the recipe i posted up a try! And her first attempt turned out well (unlike mine which were hard as rock).

Sorry i havent been updating as much because i’m down with a terrible cough and a runny nose. I’m losing my voice too. Someone even said i sound like Rachael Ray! Hahahaha!

I look forward to your comments and suggestions šŸ™‚ TIA!

30 thoughts on “Green Tea Red Bean Cookie : Fail

  1. I have also stocked up some matcha powder with the hope to get some good recipe for it. Dun worry, you will definitely get it right in your next attempt! My son loves macarons too but I have a long to-bake list now and also need to watch out our sugar intake too. Will bookmark your recipe for my reference. šŸ˜‰

    • talking about matcha and macarons..
      matcha makes awesome macarons!
      heh. will post up that recipe soon šŸ˜‰
      as i said.. your son is really really lucky! šŸ™‚

  2. When I visit Starbucks, I usually just buy their coffee or chocolate milk. Only one time, I got their cupcake šŸ™‚

    Sorry to know that your cookies didn’t turn out as you expected, well, looking at the texture, you probably need to add more flour.

    Guess what? I’ve never eaten macarons… not common here in Jakarta so far.

    • i always go for their green tea latte and original bagel with cream cheese!
      never knew they had cupcakes.
      hmmm just flour you say?
      it was quite a hit here in singapore.
      since jakarta is nearby, drop by singapore! heheheh šŸ˜›

  3. Yeah sounds too moist. Cookie dough texture should be really dry right? But who knows maybe you can pass it off as cakelets haha, doesn’t sound that bad to me =]

    • hmmm nope. some doughs are more on the wet side.
      its just the proportions i guess.
      hahahaha yeah cakelets! they do taste awesome though.
      hope you’re enjoying the holidays šŸ˜‰

    • hello crystal! if i’m not wrong.. my boyfriend got it from mayer!
      yup. mayer has like ALLLLL the colours!
      my favourite is still the red šŸ˜›

    • ahhh nah. this is an improvised recipe by the way.
      as in.. trying to make my own!
      and this was not the texture i was trying to achieve. yup.

  4. heck, as long as the flavor was good (and how could it not be?), i wouldn’t mind a cake-like texture. good for you for attempting something new! courage in the kitchen is a good thing.

    • hahaha i know right! green tea cant go wrong for me.
      kinda reminds me of dense matcha madelines.
      thank you! shall try again soon.
      really keen on getting the cookie texture im looking for!

    • am recovering! just that my voice is not coming back yet. heh.
      nah its alright. my sister still couldnt stop eating it.
      its really delicious, just not the texture i’m looking for! šŸ™‚
      will keep trying.

  5. Hope you’re feeling better now, dearie! And yup, from the picture, I think you definitely need to add in more flour, at least till you’re able to shape it. The butter content seems too high; a rough ratio for cookie ingredients goes something along the lines of 1 part butter to 1 1/2 – 2 part sugar to 2 – 3 part flour.

    Hope that helps!

    • much better, thanks! i read somewhere online that more flour makes it cakier!
      but thanks for letting me know the proportions
      hope you had an awesome hari raya, and your bake sale too.
      and welcome back to blogging again! missed you!

  6. hi,

    i really want the failed recipe. That is the kinds of recipe i prefer. And my bf really like red beans. Can you mail me the recipe? pretty please!

    Thank you! =)

    • ah its alright. everyone has their moments. haha.
      but i was really keen on getting the cookie texture!
      it was love at first bite, i really had to get it. heh.

    • haha yeah, but the feeling totally sucked.
      especially when you have expectations! ah well.
      i’ve recovered already, thanks! šŸ™‚

    • haha thanks! many on my to-bake list.
      lorraine’s posts are awesome!
      and dont worry i didnt miss that out.
      i read her blog EVERY SINGLE DAY! heheheh.
      have yet to catch up with her older posts.

  7. Your blog title caught my attention! I think it’s cute & funny. I have a green tea red bean cookie recipe & all the ingredients ready for baking in my pantry. Not sure if your recipe is the same as mine. Will dig out my book and compare before I bake it.

    • hello! thank you!
      hmmm really! my “recipe” is really an impromptu one!
      no exact measurements really. mostly by guy feeling.
      heh thanks for dropping by!
      hopefully i’ll get the recipe up soon and post it up!
      shall start reading up on your blog šŸ˜‰

  8. Hi Felicia,

    I am not sure if you are still keeping the wet cookie.

    You may like to try baking them at 140-150C on a light coloured tray or even better if your cooling rack can fit into the oven. Try baking for another 15min, but watch out for browning. If it browns too soon, turn down the heat by 10C and shade the cookie, continue to bake until time is The extra time in the oven will dry up the cookie, and makes it crunchy and less cake-like.

    If you do try this, pls let me know if it works.

    • i chucked that recipe! haha.
      thanks for the suggestion, though its definitely not the temperature.
      very sure its the proportions of the ingredients.
      because even if it’s crunchy, it’s not the texture im looking for!
      thank you anyway šŸ™‚ will work something out and if its successful, i’ll post it up!

Leave a Reply

