Tuiles

I actually looked this recipe up because my friend made it and brought it to school!

This cookie is one of the simplest yet yummiest cookie i’ve tasted so far. Techniques and recipe very similar to that of a fortune cookie! I have to idea how to pronounce Tuiles. But I know it’s french and it means ’tiles.’

It is supposed to resemble the curved tiles on top of buildings. No idea how.. But yeah, thats what my research says anyway. Hahahaha! These cookies are thin, fragile and crisp. So do contain them in a air-tight container!

IMG_4842

You won’t believe how easy these are to make.

Tuiles Batter
1 cup sugar
4 egg whites
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used vanilla beans instead)
2/3 cup all purpose flour
6 tablespoons butter, softened

I also thought of putting this up because when i googled it, i only found a couple of recipes, and hardly any pictures/tutorials. So there you go!

IMG_4807

With the whisk attachment, whisk the egg whites until frothy. Then add the sugar and continue beating.

IMG_4810

You should get a glossy, smooth meringue.

IMG_4812

Changing to the paddle attachment, beat in the butter.

Add the vanilla.

IMG_4813

Then the flour, until well incorporated.

IMG_4814

Scrape the sides and beat again!

IMG_4822

To make the shape on greaseproof paper, i made my own stencil.

IMG_4823

Spoon some batter on the side of the stencil.

IMG_4824

And smooth it across.

IMG_4825

Then remove the stencil. Tadah! As easy as that 😉

IMG_4828

Don’t do too many at a go. I recommend 4 to 6 cookies on a sheet. This is because the cookies cool fast, thus hardening and becoming crisp. Bake at 180C until golden. I did not use any specific timing for this!

IMG_4832

When golden, remove immediately from tray and drape them over a round object. I suggest using a rolling pin! If you haven’t any experience with these cookies or fortune cookies, do note that you may burn your fingers at first 😦 You might want to use rubber gloves perhaps? But after a while, I think you’ll get used to it 🙂

IMG_4851

So within seconds, the hot and soft cookies will cool to take its shape, and become crispy! Don’t let them cool for too long because it loses its crispiness fast. So transfer them into an airtight container quickly!

IMG_4854

I think these cookies are brilliant. The possibilities are endless. You can have chocolate ones, green tea ones.. Sprinkle almonds or any other nuts on top before baking.. Use these to top ice cream or other desserts. How can we not love these? Heh.

You can even let it take ANY shape you want!

Anyway, let me digress a little..

YzEvc

Don’t mind these ugly feet of mine.. But I just wanna show you guys..

Untitled

My pretty ice cream in a cone and cupcake nail! Hand-painted today 😉 Love making icecream and cupcakes! 😀

I had sooooooooo much fun making these! I made it twice today because the first batch was gone so fast! Heheheh. Have fun 🙂

12 thoughts on “Tuiles

    • yeah its my first time too! but very similar to fortune cookies.
      will really need to serve immediately then!
      cos they lose their crispiness really fast.
      heh thank you veron 🙂

    • hello sue! thank you 🙂
      makes things more uniform! heh.
      ive seen people using flower shaped stencils.
      then letting them crisp up in an egg tray!
      its really clever. you may wanna try that!

  1. I was just browsing through a book this morning, and they had tuiles in it! I think they’re pronounced “two-eel” in French 😛 Yours look really delicate, and I love the idea of a stencil!

    Btw, your nails are sooo cute 😀

    • ahhh. yeah. my sister told me late last night about how to pronounce it!
      heh. sounds cute huh. thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuu 🙂

    • hello! heh yes its really yummy!
      thin and sweet with a tinge of vanilla.
      kinda reminds me of a butter cookie actually.
      but lighter!
      its a hit with the younger ones 🙂
      thank you btw!

  2. Okay JUST saw this heh, and the method I use is not that complicated you know! Just melt the butter, whip the egg whites lightly, no need to form soft peaks even, just a bit of foam, then it’s a one bowl operation. Twees! Lol

Leave a Reply

