Chocolate Macarons

Had plenty of emails requesting for basic macarons. Here you go πŸ™‚

IMG_4090

Ground almond, icing sugar & cocoa powder

These are my absolute, number one favourite thing to bake.. Because it’s soooooooooo fun! No kidding! Let’s get started! Mix all your dry ingredients (except the granulated sugar) together..

I like to put my dry ingredients in my food processor to make sure there are no lumps.

Recipe from Tartelette!

For Macaron Shells:
3 egg whites
50g granulated sugar
200g icing sugar
110g ground almonds
2 tablespoons cocoa powder

IMG_4091

Whip those egg whites!

Whisk your egg whites and slowly add the granulated sugar.

IMG_4095

Soft peaks

Beat until soft peaks form but not stiff. This should look shiny and pretty!

IMG_4109

Flow-Like-Magma Consistency

Fold your dry ingredients into the egg whites. I put in the dry ingredients half at a time. It does take a bit of strength πŸ˜› Don’t worry if the batter seems kind of dry. You don’t have to be too gentle with it! Just fold until incorporated and glossy. Stop mixing at this point in time. Don’t overmix your macaron batter. You should end up with a slow moving batter that flows like magma.

IMG_4120

Piped macaron shells ready to be baked

Pipe your macaron shells onto baking paper. Many people like to use a Silpat mat, which is a silicon baking mat. But i personally think its not necessary to get one for macarons.

Because they really are very easy to remove and wont stick! Your piped shells should be round and shiny! Dip your finger in a little water and tap the top of your shells to flatten them if you have to πŸ™‚

IMG_4125

HAHA i think i doubled the recipe or something. Thus so many!

Pop these babies into the oven at 135C for 18 to 20 mins.

IMG_4127

Sexiest feet in the world do not belong to living things.

And voila. you should see shiny round shells with pretty ‘feet’ on them. I think the feet of the macarons make them macarons. If not for the feet, i don’t think they’ll be very pretty! Hahaha!

Then i made the chocolate ganache. Well, you can sandwich anything in between really! Or just use your favourite filling πŸ˜‰

Chocolate Ganache:
1 cup chocolate (I used 70% to even out the sweetness!)
1/2 cup heavy cream

Shiny ganache

Shiny ganache

Melt the chocolate in heavy cream over heat, whisk till smooth and refrigerate.

IMG_4131

Fill those macarons πŸ˜€

Place ganache into a piping bag and pipe them on the shells and sandwich them.

IMG_4143

Yum πŸ˜€

If you do your research online, you’d read about how delicate these French Pastries are. There are different tricks people experiment with.

For example how some people say that aged egg whites will work better because they are ‘dryer’. And to let the shells sit outside for an hour before popping them into the oven. Or popping the shells into the oven on high temperature and immediately turning the temperature down etc.

I did leave my batter out for a while (for a minute only though LOL) before putting them into the oven for the ‘skin’ to form. Other than that.. I didn’t do any of those special things! You could try though! Maybe they’d be prettier.

I think they aren’t overly sweet like they’re stereotyped to be! I’ve changed my aunt’s perspective of macarons. She’ll NEVER touch one. Until i convinced her to try the ones i made, she loved it πŸ˜‰

Anyway, i hope you guys enjoyed this post and i hope you guys have fun making these as much as i have!

33 thoughts on “Chocolate Macarons

  1. wow, your macarons are pretty!! Mine totally sucks. Look so different!! Hahas. Great, i should try out your recipe instead.

    • hey angelah! haha. mine was horrible the first time i made it.
      takes practice! keep trying and i await your good news πŸ™‚

  2. This looks so good! I keep procrastinating making macarons because of all of the horrid stories I’ve heard. Definitely bookmarking this πŸ™‚

    Oh, I’ve read that some people actually process the ground almonds in the blender to make it more fine; do you do that? Or do you buy a specific brand that’s fine enough?

    • hello there bride-to-be πŸ˜‰
      yeah i know right! my first attempt at macarons were really bad.
      and yes i do process the ground almonds!
      but i still put it through the sieve after that πŸ™‚
      and nope, no specific brand of almonds!

  3. You make it sound so easy and fun! I’ve always wanted to make macarons but have been put off by all the negative hearsay. We should have more stories like yours! Your macarons turned out beautifully and I am heartened to note that you didn’t have to resort to any of those “tricks”! There is hope yet!

    • hello! haha! i must say my first few attempts of macarons were HORRIBLE.
      they were hard as rock and lumpy 😦
      but i was determined! hahaha! ive heard good feedback of this recipe.
      i think all we need is practice! πŸ˜‰ good luck if you’re gonna try this out k!

  4. Hi there, you really make macaron looks fun and easy. Also thanks for taking thing to do the step by step tutorial.

    I have made macaron several times (and attended 2 classes), but each time the result is quite inconsistence. Sometimes the feet is there, sometimes the shell cracked, and sometimes the batter is simply too flowy.

    I hope to try out your method soon!

    • thank you dear πŸ™‚
      ive attended a workshop before.
      but i think it all comes down to the egg whites and mixing it well but not overmixing it at the same time!
      it does that a lot of practice.
      it look me quite a few tries before i got consistent with my macarons.
      do feel free to ask me if you have any questions.

  5. Thanks for offering your help… your method is different from what i have learnt.

    the first class says use meringue powder, cannot use icing sugar, must buy the pure icing sugar from Sun Lik.

    The 2nd class says cannot use meringue powder, must use egg white powder… icing sugar is fine.

    hahaha, can you imagine how confused I am. I will try your method before I ask any question!

    • i’ve heard about the meringue/egg white powder method.
      its to so called β€œdry” the mixture. but i don’t think its necessary!
      though meringue powder is in a way a substitute for egg white powder.
      never heard about pure/not pure icing sugar though!
      i just get it from our good old ntuc fairprice πŸ˜›
      don’t need to use all the fancy ingredients. it’ll turn out fine without them πŸ™‚

  6. What is your technique to pipe round shells? My shells always came out oblong even though the texture were very good. Please advise.

    • hi lisa. i use wilton’s round tip. the biggest one there!
      i pipe it using a β€œpush-pull” method.
      it’s something like whats shown in this youtube video.

      when i just started and needed practice,
      i drew circles on a plain piece of paper,
      then placed the baking paper over it, then piped my macarons.
      the circles i drew act as a stencil.
      i used it until i got used to the piping action and size!
      i hope that helps πŸ™‚

      • Hi Felicia,
        I’ve watched that same video many many times but it fails to be round when it comes to me pulling the bag off with the slight swirl. I did the circle stencil and started the piping from the center about 1cm from the sheet. The piped circle would grow, well eventually out of round. And as the beak ends, it dissolves and adds to the randomness of the shape along with the tapping action of the sheet. Also, sometimes the shells would be sticking to the parchment paper even though I believe I had baked the sheet at 300F for 15 min and let them cool completely. What is the trick to not sticking? I’ve even used a silpat but the sticking problem was even worse so I went back to the parchment paper. Could it be because I’ve used a heavy gauge sheet like this?

        http://www.amazon.com/Norpro-18-Inch-12-Inch-Heavy-Aluminum/dp/B000F7A58U/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1254763888&sr=1-10

        Thanks for your help! I’m really frustrated about the out of round shape even though I think the texture of the shells is very nice when it doesn’t stick to the sheet.

      • from how you describe it lisa,
        its definitely the consistency of your macaron batter.
        it could be many things!
        it could be the mixing. because it does get more “watery” after more mixing
        it could be the proportions of the wet and dry ingredients.
        which recipe did you use?
        most of the recipes i use is from tartelette.
        i doubt its the silpat mat or baking paper you use.
        if it helps, i use baking paper by the brand ‘glad’ most of the time

  7. I’ve used the same Tartelette basic macaron recipe as well. The feet on my macarons look very much like yours in the posting. It’s only when it comes to peeling it off that I get the trouble. I’ll try a lighter weight cookie sheet next time because I remember that the shells were easier to lift off from the lighter weight regular baking sheet. Guess I just have to practice more on the techniques of piping then.

    • hmmm. just make sure you get the right consistency.
      the batter shouldnt spread out much after piping!
      sounds like you’re on the right track πŸ˜‰
      cant help you with the baking sheets part because i only use one kind!
      so i cant compare with the heavier ones like silpat.
      i hope my suggestions are of help to you though!

  8. Hello. I really would love to try your recipe. However I just want to make plain macarons. Should I just omit the cocoa. Or should I replace it with more almond mix??? Yours are stunning I am hoping your recipe will give me success.

    Thanks

    Brett

    • hi brett! yes you may just omit the cocoa πŸ™‚ it works fine!
      thats what i did for my salted caramel macarons.
      im not sure about almond mix though.
      if im not wrong almond mix contains sugar and other stuff.
      havent tried but i think its not a very good idea.
      all the best in your attempt! πŸ™‚ hope this helps!

  9. Thanks so much!!! When I say almond mix I mean the ground almonds and icing sugar.

    I have made two lots so far first lot was ok but had a hollow centre. Second lot stuck to the tin. I think I am being WAY to precious with the process and am going to just whip these babies up.

    No resting etc and we will see how we go.

    Thanks so much your blog is great!!!

    • oh haha. was just worried because one of my readers used almond mix that she bought from the supermarket and it failed!
      haha its alright. just takes practice! my first few batches were disasters trust me.
      you’re most welcome, just glad you enjoy it!

  10. Yaaaaaaaayyyyyyy. I have had complete succcess today I was squelling at the first sight of the feet. Oh my goodness thank you thank you thank you

    I sandwiched them together with a lavender and white chic ganache mmmmm

    I was complety non fussy about them and did a few extra things.

    – wiped my KA bowl and whisk atachment with a peice of lemon to ensure to was super clean

    – diddnt leave them to rest just whacked them in

    I just need to slightly fiddle with my oven temp as there were a touch golden. But I don’t care I am just so so so excited. Wish I could post a pic for you

    thanks again!!!

    • congrats brett πŸ™‚ proud of you!
      yeah sometimes you just have to not think too much while doing it.
      being too careful aint always a good thing.
      well done brett, i’m sure they look and taste awesome πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: My First Baking Video On YouTube! «

  12. Hi

    I cup of chocolate is equivalent to how many grams? Like wise for heavy cream. Is it also the thicken cream? Then can i not process the almond meal and other dry ingredients and just sift it. Thank you!

    • if i’m not wrong thickened cream and heavy cream is different.
      you can google the fat content difference.
      no problems with processing and sifting it!
      i’m not sure about the chocolate and grams..
      you can always search!

      • i don’t use those brands.
        i buy most of my things from phoon huat!
        i forgot the brand, but its in a blue packet.
        ask them for heavy cream!

Leave a Reply

