Man Tou

Hello! Finally a recipe post. I made this during my first two months here in Paris. I was craving for fried buns so badly when my friends kept talking about local food. Especially crab. Sadly I don’t find crabs here in the supermarket. So I just bought pepper sauce and decided to make my own man tous :)

It’s amazingly easy to make. I personally like my man tous fried. And eaten with crab and whichever sauce they come with. Otherwise having it with condensed milk is equally awesome.

Man Tou
Recipe from Almost Bourdain
5 g instant dried yeast
250 ml water
500 g all purpose flour
25 g caster sugar
1 tsp vegetable oil

Dissolve the yeast in a bowl of warm water and add the rest of the ingredients. Knead well until you get a very nice and smooth dough.

 


Flour your table and dough when necessary to prevent sticking. Shouldn’t need much though. The dough is too good! Roll it out nice and long.

 


Fold it in thirds.

 


And roll it out again.

 


Brush the surface of the dough with a little water.

 

 

 


Roll it up tightly. Then use a serrated nice to slice.


And place each bun on a piece of parchment paper. Cover and leave to rise for 20 mins.

 

Then steam for 20 mins until ready.

 

It’s ready. But I like mine fried, so i did.

 

 

Voila. Hahahaha. Sadly i only had pepper sauce to eat with the man tous I made then.

On a happier note, I was at the farmer’s market last week and found crab pincers. Ended up making black pepper crab :D

Bon Appetit!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Man Tou

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 247 other followers

