Donna Hay’s 4-Tier Chocolate Cake

A couple of days back, I was just watching Junior Masterchef Australia on my laptop with my cousin. She’s a closet cook/baker i think! She enjoys watching these cheflings whipping up storms in the Masterchef kitchen.

We watched this particular episode where the contestants had to make Donna Hay’s 4-tier Chocolate Cake. After which, I looked at my cousin and asked “wanna bake?” Haha! And we headed to the supermarket to get ingredients and baked as soon as we got back.

Donna Hay’s 4-Tier Chocolate Cake
Recipe from here

Preheat oven to 150C.

Cake
1/2 cup (125ml) water
60g butter, chopped
2 tablespoons cocoa, sifted
1 cup (150g) plain flour, sifted
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda, sifted
1 cup (220g) caster sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup (60ml) buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

  1. Heat water, butter and cocoa in saucepan until butter melts.
  2. Combine sifted dry ingredients.
  3. Add egg, buttermilk and vanilla to dry ingredients.
  4. Add cocoa mixture and mix well.
  5. Bake for about 40 to 45 mins or until cooked.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting
50g butter, softened
250g cream cheese
1 cup (160g) icing sugar mixture, sifted
1/4 cup (25g) cocoa, sifted

  1. Cream butter and cream cheese until pale.
  2. Add dry ingredients and beat until light and fluffy.

If you watched this episode, you’d realise that their cakes are way taller. That’s because i’m using an 8 inch pan, in comparison with a 6 inch they used. Like the episode, I baked in two pans and sliced each cake into 2, ending up with 4 layers in total.

We were too lazy to top the cake off with a couple of berries and what not.

Also because we couldn’t wait to cut into the cake! It’s the most exciting part, no? Just like Masterchef, where you see the faces light up as soon as you see the pretty layers. That’s what happened to us. Absolutely thrilled to see a slice, so pretty!

I think i’m qualified to be on Junior Masterchef (other than my age), no? Haha okay fine, kidding. I’m nothing compared to those amazing kids! Love this recipe. My cousin who doesn’t even like chocolate, liked this cake. So it says a lot right? :)

22 thoughts on “Donna Hay’s 4-Tier Chocolate Cake

  1. Hi fel, saw your tweets that u’re going to Paris to study? Omg. Le cordon bleu? Envious… Did u study in a cooking school in singapore before? Really interested/curious to know more, pls reply. Thanks!

    • hello agnes! haha yup le cordon bleu paris.
      nope i wasn’t doing cuisine, i was doing a business diploma!
      im going to lcb paris to do pastry this june :)

  2. Whoa, all the best! I bet u’ll definitely do well! Pls don’t forget to update yr blog :D
    p.s/ how much does it cost, the fees etc? :O

  3. Hi there Felicia! Am really impressed with your baking skills. Was at the mulberry party last yr and I am wondering if you could bake a cake for my friend’s upcoming bday (: could you provide me with your email so I could give you more
    Details. Or you could drop me an email and I’ll reply you.

    Hope to hear from you soon :D

  4. Hi Felicia! My friends and I really LOVE your creativity.

    We’re wondering if it’s possible for you to bake a 21st birthday cake for my friend?

    I actually dropped you an email about this just a while earlier. Commenting here just in case you’ve missed it :) If the requirements for the cake makes it a tedious process, we’re really open to simpler designs.

    Really look forward to your reply!

  5. I will surely try this lovely cake I just wanna knw is caster suger any different from normal suger?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

